New CCNA 200-301 has been Announced!

New CCNA exam – 200-301

Cisco certification program will be drastically changed from Feb. 24, 2020. There will no longer be multiple different CCNA exams and certifications – only a single, comprehensive exam will be available. The new exam’s code is 200-301 CCNA and its full name is Implementing and Administering Cisco Networking Technologies. According to Cisco, the new exam “covers a broad range of fundamentals based on the latest technologies, software development skills, and job roles“.



Unit 1: Network FundamentalsUnit 5: Security Fundamentals
Unit 2: Network AccessUnit 6: Network Management
Unit 3: IP ConnectivityUnit 7: Automation and Programmability
Unit 4: IP ServicesUnit 8: Cloud Computing

Unit 1: Network Fundamentals

1. Introduction to the OSI Model
2.Introduction to IPv4 (Internet Protocol)
3. IPv4 Packet Header
4.Address Resolution Protocol (ARP)
5.Introduction to TCP and UDP
6.TCP Header
7.TCP Window Size Scaling
8.Introduction to ICMP
9.Introduction to DNS
10.Introduction to Cisco Command Line Interface (CLI)
11.User mode and Privileged mode

Unit 2: Network Access

2.2 VLANs and Trunks
1.Introduction to VLANs
2.How to configure VLANs
3.VLAN Trunking Protocol (VTP)
4.Introduction to 802.1Q
5.How to configure a Trunk
6. Dynamic Trunking Protocol (DTP)
7.802.1Q Native VLAN
8.Introduction to Voice VLAN
10.L3 Etherchannel

2.3 Spanning-Tree

1.Introduction to Spanning-Tree
2. Per VLAN Spanning-Tree
3. Spanning-Tree Port States
4.Spanning-Tree Cost Calculation
5.Spanning-Tree Portfast
6.Rapid PVST
7.Rapid PVST Configuration

2.4 Wireless

1.Introduction to Wireless Networks
2.Introduction to Wireless LANs
3.Wireless LAN 802.11 Service Sets
4.Introduction to Wireless Security
5.Wireless Authentication Methods
6.Wireless Encryption and Integrity
7. Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA)
8.Cisco Wireless Network Architectures
9.Cisco WLC Deployment Models
10.Cisco Wireless AP Modes
11Cisco Wireless LAN Controller (WLC) Basic Configuration
12.Cisco WLC WPA2 PSK Authentication

Unit 3: IP Connectivity

3.1 Introduction

1.Introduction to Routers and Routing
2.Cisco IOS Router Basic Configuration
3 Introduction to Wide Area Networks (WAN)

3.2 IPv4 Subnetting

1. Introduction to Subnetting
2.Basics of Binary Numbers
3. Subnetting in Binary
4. Subnetting in Decimal (Fast Method)
5.Classless Inter-Domain Routing (CIDR)
6.Variable Length Subnet Mask (VLSM)
7.Route Summarization
8.Hexadecimal to Binary and Decimal Conversion
9.Create a Subnetting Cheat Sheet

3.3 IPv6

1.       Introduction to IPv62.       Shortening IPv6 Addresses3.       How to find IPv6 Prefix4.       IPv6 Address Types5.       IPv6 Address Assignment Example6.       IPv6 EUI-647.       IPv6 Summarization8.       IPv6 Solicited Node Multicast Address9.       IPv6 Neighbor Discovery Protocol (NDP)10.   IPv6 Stateless Autoconfiguration

3.4 Routing

1.Default Gateway
2.Static Routing
3.IPv6 Static Route
4.IP Routing Explained
5.Router on a Stick
6.InterVLAN Routing
7. Administrative Distance
8. Floating Static Route
9. Introduction to Route Summarization


1. Introduction to OSPF
2.OSPF Configuration
3.OSPF Packets and Neighbor Discovery
4.OSPF Reference Bandwidth
5.OSPF Router ID
6.OSPF DR/BDR Election
7. OSPF Passive Interface
8.OSPF Hello and Dead Interval

3.6 Gateway Redundancy

  1. Introduction to Gateway Redundancy

Unit 4: IP Services

4.1 DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol)

1.Introduction to DHCP
2.DHCP Server Configuration
3.DHCP Relay Agent
4.DHCP Client
5.DHCP Server IPv6 Configuration

4.2 SNMP (Simple Network Management Protocol)

  1. Introduction to SNMP
  2. SNMPv2
  3. SNMPv3

4.3 NAT (Network Address Translation)

1.Introduction to NAT and PAT
2. NAT Static
3.NAT Dynamic
4.Port Address Translation (PAT)

4.4 (QoS) Quality of Service

1.Introduction to Quality of Service (QoS)
2. IP Precedence and DSCP Values
5 Shaping
6. Policing

Unit 5: Security Fundamentals

5.1 Access-Lists

1. Introduction to Access-Lists
2.Wildcard Bits
3.Standard Access-List
4.Extended Access-List
5.Time-based Access-List

5.2 Misc

2. AAA and 802.1X
3.AAA User Authentication
4. AAA Admin Authentication
5. DHCP Snooping
6.Introduction to Firewalls
7.Introduction to VPNs

Unit 7: Network Management

1.Introduction to CDP
2.Introduction to LLDP
3.Telnet Server and Client
4.SSH Server and Client
5.Introduction to NTP
6.Introduction to Syslog
7.Configuration Register
8.Password Recovery on Cisco IOS
9.Cisco IOS File System
10.Upgrade Cisco IOS Image

Unit 8: Automation and Programmability

1. Device Programmability
2.REST API3.       Data Models and Structures
4.Configuration Management Tools and Version Control Systems
5.Introduction to Software Defined Networking (SDN)
6. Spine and Leaf Architecture

Unit 9: Cloud Computing

  1. Virtual Machines and Containers
  2. Introduction to Cloud Computing
  3. Cloud Connectivity

Under the current CCNA certification program, there are multiple concentration exams for different learning paths. However, under the new rules, the following certifications will all be replaced by the new CCNA:

  • CCNA Cloud
  • CCNA Collaboration
  • CCNA Data Center
  • CCNA Industrial
  • CCNA Routing and Switching
  • CCNA Security
  • CCNA Service Provider
  • CCNA Wireless
  • CCDA (Cisco Certified Design Associate)

So, the specialization at the CCNA level is going away – you will now choose your specialization at the CCNP level.

Current CCNA certificates

Your CCNA certification will be active until its expiration date. When the new program goes into effect in February 2020, your current CCNA certification will be transitioned to an equivalent in the new program. So if you have any of the current CCNA certificates (e.g. CCNA Industrial or CCNA Routing and Switching), you will automatically be granted the new CCNA certificate.

If you’re working toward a current CCNA certification, make sure to complete it before Feb 23, 2020. CCNAs who pass any of the old CCNA exams before the Feb. 24 deadline will automatically receive the new CCNA credential and a training badge that represents the pre-Feb. 24 concentration the candidate completed. So if you pass (for example) the CCNA Wireless exam before the deadline, you will get the new CCNA credential and a CCNA Wireless training badge.


CCENT will be retired in February, 2020, and it will not apply toward the new CCNA certification. Make sure to pass the both ICND exams and obtain the CCNA certificate before February 24, 2020. If you don’t, you will need to take the new exam to complete CCNA certification.

About the new exam

200-301 is a single exam, consisting of 120 questions. It covers a wide range of topics, such as routing and switching, security, wireless networking, and even some programming concepts. As with other Cisco certifications, you can take it at any of the Pearson VUE certification centers.

About the new curriculum

The modules comprised in the new CCNA curirculum are:

  • Network Fundamentals – routers, switches, cabling, TCP and UDP, IPv4 and IPv6
  • IP Connectivity – IP routing, OSPFv2
  • IP Services – NTP, DCHP, QoS, SNMP
  • Security Fundamentals – VPNs, wireless security, port security
  • Network Access – VLANs and trunking, EtherChannel
  • Automation and Programmability – REST APIs, Puppet, Chef, JSON, SDN

Removed topics

The following topics have been removed from the new CCNA curriculum:

  • Network fundamentals – OSI model
  • LAN Switching – Frame, VTP, Switch stack
  • Routing – EIGRP, RIPv2, OSPFv3, Inter-VLAN routing
  • WAN – PPP, MLPPP, PPPoE, GRE, BGP, WAN access

Exam price

There is currently no pricing available for 200-301. However, according to Cisco official document, the total cost to achieve certification has been reduced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close Bitnami banner